Australian Fine Artist

A full day had been planned for students in the city. I only kept brief notes about each one as it was a very full on day and I had to keep moving. Below is a list of the event we attended with my thoughts.

  1. Free, Secular and Democratic
    Keith Murdoch Gallery Melbourne Library (formerly the Victorian Museum)
    This contained books, plans and drawings for the development of the Museum buildings. There were a lot of beautifully done ink drawings, done before the drafting pens and computers we now have to do these things. It was a good reflection of the process of development of a public work or building as well as the artistic skill of the draftsmen and architects and engineers.
    There was also a lovely McCubbin painting and plaster cast of a frieze from the Parthenon. the colours in the hummingbird display were stunning as well.
  2. Permanent Collection
    Level 2, Melbourne Library (formerly the Victorian Museum)
    Paintings covering several generations of artists, some which I preferred over others. The ones I picked out for my interest were: Market Street 1912 Jessie o Alicia Traill
    the Melbourne Public Library 1883 Hne Cook
    Little Ships on the Maribyrnong River 1953 Lesley Sinclair
    The Burial of Burke 1911 William Strutt
    Robert Russel 1899 Alice Panton
    Plenty Ranges from East Melbourne 1862 Eugene von Guerard
    Wharves Near Spencer Street 1891 Alice Chapman
    Good to see some female artists in the group!
  3. Mirror of the World: Books and Ideas
    Dome Galleries, Melbourne Library (formerly the Victorian Museum)
    I visited this display during my Semester Break. I made up some time by not revisiting. I will just comment that the illustrations in the books were stunning and worth a visit.
  4. Storey Hall
    RMIT
    Peter Ellis: “Head in a Hive of Bees”, Selected Drawings
    A Parliament of Lines: Aspects of Scottish Contemporary Drawing
    I liked the quick female nude studies, the more architectural drawings and the drawing of rocks. The textures were nicely done. The little animations were clever and funny. The drawing called the One Armed Snake was a clever drawing because of what it left out and the movement created by line.
    Gosia Wlodarczac: “A Room Without a View”
    Held no interest for me at all.
  5. First Site Gallery
    Under Storey Hall
    Jewellery and ornaments. A few rather nice but didn’t hold my attention for long.
  6. Ian Potter Museum of Art
    Melbourne University
    Philip Brophy: Colour Me Dead
    Not so subtle sexual theme which I am not sure was in homage to or in exploitation of female genitalia. Overall I didn’t like this exhibition. It may have been technically well done, but not pleasing for me to look at.
    Far Famed City of Melbourne (This was finished)
    Heat in the Eyes: New Acquisitions
    Modern contemporary art. I walked in, walked around and then out. It didn’t hold any interest for me at all.
    Not on our list but I went in anyway:  I found the antiquities room was open!!!! YAY!!! I was in and soaking it all up! Ancient Greek and Mycenaen pottery, sculptures and reliefs. Lovely coins and bronzes. I loved the low relief plaster copies of originals from Greece. I was totally in my element in here!
    The John Hugh Sutton Collection, Professors Walk
  7. The Baillieu Library
    Professor’s Walk Melbourne University
    Libri: Six Centuries of Italian Books
    I love books, especially old ones! Even if I can only pick up one word of latin here and there, the way they are made, the beautiful typography and icons and illustrations are worth looking at. It was a bit of a hike over there, but it is good to see masterful book making and heritage from other places apart from our own cultures.
  8. 8 Grainger Museum: Dedicated to the Works of Percy Grainger
    Melbourne University, Royal Parade
    I was fast wearing out from our full day by the time I had found this one. I hadn’t heard of Percy Grainger, and it is a shame as he was such a talented and intelligent person. His paintings are lovely little scenes in water colour and from his biography, he was also a talented musician and composer. The old musical instruments and furniture were interesting to look at, but then I have a liking for music and antiques as well. There were also some fun Norman Lindsay etchings in the collection as well as a beautiful Tom Roberts portrait which I have only seen in books.

Final thoughts

Honestly the day was a bit too full. I was totally exhausted by the end of the day. To add to it, when I got on the tram outside Melbourne University and didn’t get on fast enough, the tram driver abused me verbally!
(At least I found out to my joy that I have regained my backbone and I asked him if he spoke to all visitors to Melbourne like that – then called him an asshole.
I also took the number of the tram and reported him to Yarra Trams when I got home! – Wow I didn’t shake, stammer or stutter once and firmly stood my ground. I have since received and apology from Yarra Trams.)

Leave a Reply

