Australian Fine Artist

Context and Culture 17th April

An animated Video.

IMDB is my friend… a bit like Google for searching out things! According to this site “When her grandson is kidnapped during the Tour de France, Madame Souza and her beloved pooch Bruno team up with the Belleville Sisters–an aged song-and-dance team from the days of Fred Astaire–to rescue him.”

I saw the likeness of fred Astair in the beginning… being eaten by his tap shoes. There was a lot of hidden meanings and exaggerations of the typical gangster figure and Americans in what was unmistakably a send up of New York City.

As far as French humour goes I think I like Minuscule on Channel 2 a bit more.

The artistic direction of the movie was clever with a lot of use of three primary colours. The views from above and floor or street level also gave scenes an interesting angle.

The drawing was very nicely done but some of the humour was a bit gross for my taste. Over all I found a lot of the movie to be rather sad instead of funny. I felt sorry for the poor old dog, so faithfully following his owner all over the place including crossing the Atlantic in a paddle boat and hauling her and others up a steep road and replacing a flat tyre on a truck! I guess some humour just escapes me a bit – or I just miss having a dog…

With many of the scenes done in yellow and blue, I was reminded of the book about Turner I am reading and only learnt today about his use of these exact colours in many of his works – much to the annoyance of the art galleries and other artists of the time, and how research into colour later discovered what he had really been on about with them. I have been experimenting with these same two colours this year which I suddenly felt rather good about!

I am not sure where the name Bellville came from apart from a place in New Jersey having it, so am not sure about the connection to New York for the name in the title.

In the end I guess it is good that the good guys won and the baddies didn’t. I am accustomed to watching animations, in particular, without dialogue so this wasn’t too different for me. Story telling has always been more a visual thing with words secondary. Not a bad afternoon for study but I wouldn’t go out and buy the DVD.

Leave a Reply

