Australian Fine Artist

I am pleased to talk about my two hour art workshop sponsored by Casey Arts.

The workshop was on a Saturday morning and was free to Casey residents who booked with the Casey Arts Officer. It covered some of the basics of drawing.

The first part of the session introduced materials such as papers, pencils, charcoal and erasers. Later we went on to more hands on activities covering drawing techniques in line and tone as well as tips on how to demystify drawing objects.

All attendees received notes to take home with them, some samples of papers and pencils so they are encouraged to keep drawing. The training is based on the Australia wide recognised and accredited VET system.

I am a qualified trainer with a Certificate IV in Training and Assessment so sessions are as informative as I can make them, along with being relaxing and great fun.

I haven’t had a huge amount of time to give sessions since gaining my qualification so am looking forward to giving more of these in the future. This was an exciting offer from Casey Arts and I am very happy and honoured to have been chosen.

Here is a copy of the advertising in Casey’s Email newsletter:

Dear Arts Mailing List

The City of Casey presents free community arts workshops.

Introduction to Drawing

Learn the basics of drawing with award–winning Casey artist Janice Mills.  Bring your own sketch book and pencils if you have them

Date:          Saturday 7 July
Time:             10 am – 12 pm
Venue:          Balla Balla Community Centre

65 Berwick – Cranbourne Road, Cranbourne East

Melway ref: 134 B6

Follow Up on Workshop

The drawing workshop on Saturday was very successful and enjoyable both for me as the facilitator and those attending. I even roped in the attending Casey Arts ladies to not only watch but participate in the session. I have heard since that they very much enjoyed themselves!

I did start off a little nervous as I have given very few of these, but as time went on and people asked questions and we started to interact. When asked, nobody wanted coffee or toilet break at the halfway point as they said they were having too much fun!

The handouts and samples of quality papers, pencils and charcoal went over very well. The whiteboard to the venue was very helpful in demonstrating techniques to demystify drawing different objects, animals and people. The tables were set up in a good arrangement so I could easily give personal attention and instruction.

I’d be very happy to do lots more of these as I get the time as well as adding demonstrations at various art societies and giving my 9 week course as well as tutoring on an individual basis. I have the Cert.IV TNA so I want to use it along with my growing skills in my art practice.

I have asked Casey Arts for copies of photos from the session, so am going to post some more detailed feedback and photos in here in coming days. I have already had a fantastic email from them saying how everyone filled in their feedback forms with very good comments. They are also happy to work with me again in the near future.

More info to go in here soon so watch this space!

Leave a Reply

